3 Books for the Young Developing Leader

Last night I was reflecting on the books that really developed my leadership foundation and desire in college. I came up with three books I feel developed my Leadership Perspective. All three books are fairly easy reads and are very insightful in the basic thoughts of leadership. The main reason I chose these books is because they use great illustrations that help a young person remember the books’ main points years down the road. If you have a high school or college student that is a leader or interested in leadership I highly reccommend these books.

“21 Irrefutale Laws of Leadership”John Maxwell

“Habitudes”Tim Elmore

“Five Temptations of A CEO”Peter Lencioni

7 comments so far

  1. Mike on

    Billy,

    may i humbly suggest The Connected Leader? This book is an excellent guide for young leaders, and I love the organization of the book. Wish more authors would adopt it.

    Had fun meeting you at Liz’s place.

    Mike

  2. tim on

    Billy:

    Those are three GREAT books. I also like Mike’s addition of The Connected Leader. May I add one more?

    The Leadership Challenge by Kouzes and Posner. I consider it to be my Leadership Bible.

  3. Billy on

    Mike and Tim

    Thanks for the recomendations. I never heard of the connected leader, but plan to check it out. The Leadership Challenge is a classic. It is a great book for a leadership foundation.

  4. […] Smith presents 3 Books for the Young Developing Leader posted at The Organic Leadership […]

  5. Emmanuel on

    Thanks for the vote of confidence on the connected leader and glad you enjoyed it enough to recommend it (yes, I did come upon your blog whilst googling my name – all for research purposes you understand!). My main purpose for writing however is to congratulate you on your other choices and add Herd by M Earls. More a marketing than leadership book as such but the subtitle ‘how to change mass behaviour by harnessing our true nature’ somehow captures what all leadership is about – and it’s beautifully written! E

  6. Billy on

    Emmanuel

    Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I plan on adding your book and “Herd” to my list of books I want to read.

  7. CJ on

    Those are some good books. Here is another good book with some practical application and exercises.

    http://search.barnesandnoble.com/The-Business-Black-Belt-Training-Manual-for-Leaders-and-Managers/Stephen-Iacullo/e/9781432725983/?itm=1


Leave a Reply

