Leading By Ego

One area in leadership that I probably struggle with most is with my EGO. It seems everytime I let my ego get in the way it is because I want something without considering what it could do for others. I want to lift myself up without lifting others up.

Is leading by Ego the best way? Yes, we want to be successful, but at what cost? I believe full heartly that ego can lead to success in the short-term but like the leaders of Enron and Arthur Anderson it can catch up to you. we can only fill our ego for so long before it needs more. One of the questions I continue to ask myself to keep my ego in check is, “Am I here to be served or to serve?” This question is one of the keys that Ken Blanchard writes about in his book “Lead Like Jesus.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

